Baltic Mills centre for art

RIBA Competition proposal drawings 1990

The Baltic Flour Mill was built by the Rank Hovis company to a late-1930s design by architects Gelder and Kitchen and completed in 1950. It was extended in 1957 by the addition of an animal feed mill. The mill was closed in 1981. It was one of a number of mills located along the banks of the Tyne, all of which, due to their size, were prominent local landmarks.

The RIBA held a competition to design a centre for art.

 

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!